Daniel Pearl Awards for investigative journalism

The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) is inviting entries for the Daniel Pearl Awards, named for the Wall Street Journal reporter killed in 2002 in Pakistan.

The Awards recognize and promote cross-border investigations that involve reporting in at least two countries on a topic of world importance.

The competition is open to professional journalists of any nationality, working individually or in teams, in any medium. The awards criteria require the work to have been first published or broadcast between 1 January 2008 and 31 December 2009.

Two $5,000 first prizes and five $1,000 finalist awards will be made. One of the first prizes will go to a US-based reporter or news organization, and the other will be awarded to a journalist or entity outside the United States.
The judges may also award a special citation for work that is unusually enterprising or conducted under especially difficult circumstances.

Winners will be announced at the Global Investigative Journalism Conference in Geneva, Switzerland, in April 2010.

Visit the ICIJ website: publicintegrity.org

Download the application form

Link via Knight Center for Journalism in the Americas

Also read: “I don’t think this is the business of a journalist”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.